February Check-in

I meant to do a monthly or bimonthly check-in but… life. Ya know? Anyways this is about seven weeks after I started back into our 12 week program. I’ll be honest that the first four weeks (Phase One) I wasn’t trying to do anything spectacular. I was going in there and doing just enough in weights to feel sore but I was focusing on my form and trying to remember HOW to do the exercises. The second set of four weeks (Phase Two), is when I started to test my body and push myself. The more research I’ve done and the more people I’ve met online in the “fitness world”, the more motivated I’ve become. For example, I wanted to push myself one week and try to double my weight (ha! in the end it was like a 10-20 pound increase) just to see how far my body would go. Surprisingly, I’ve done pretty well. I’ve found a decent weight range and now I’m perfecting form and trying to hit a solid 3 sets of 15 reps. Once I can accomplish that, I plan on upping the weight again. Slowly but surely.
Jan 06, 2014 
  • Stats:
  • Height:        5′ 6″ (ish)
  • Weight:       140 lbs
  • Bra size:      36D
  • Shirt Size:    M/L
  • Pants:         4/6
  • Dress:         6/8 or M/L
  • Measurements:
  • Upper Arms: 13 inches (not flexed)
  • Bust:            37 inches
  • Waist:          28 inches
  • Hips:           39-40 inches
  • Thighs:         22 inches
Feb 26, 2014 (items in bold are changes from January)
  • Stats:
    • Height:        5′ 6″ (ish)
    • Weight:       141 lbs
    • Bra size:      36D
    • Shirt Size:    M
    • Pants:         4/6
    • Dress:         6/8 or M/L
  • Measurements:
    • Upper Arms:  12 inches (not flexed)
    • Bust:              35 inches (this could be a difference between bras. Need to find a consistent method.)
    • Waist:            28 inches
    • Hips:              40 inches
    • Thighs:           21 inches

I can’t see much difference between the two photos but I can physically feel the difference when I run my hands up and down my arms. People are leaving gracious and motivating comments for me on facebook and instagram when I post my progress photos. (Which I am a little bashful of but still appreciate!) I found a group on facebook that I joined and it’s been super refreshing to talk to women of all different steps in this process. Let’s put this out there because it’s been nagging at me for a while…

 
*Back: February 2014*


I want to tell all the women out there that keep saying “it’s not doing anything” or “the scale isn’t moving” or whatever your excuse is that it takes time. LOTS of time. Find a realistic goal picture and put it somewhere that you can see it all the time. I’m not saying to find some lean ripped out fitness model and be like “THAT! I want that!” It’s highly unlikely. For anyone. Do you know what it takes to ACTUALLY look like that? Let me break it down for you:

*They prep for those photoshoots by dropping to 1000 calories/day for like a week! Any personal trainer/nutritionist that is looking out for your well being will tell you that’s not feasible. 
*Genetics. Unfortunately it’s true. Some have it. Some don’t. 
*You live, breathe, eat weights and boring food. Doing that for extended periods of time may not necessarily keep you happy. 
*How long did it take you to get where you are now? Expect for it to take that long to get rid of it.

For me personally? I like the look of Jamie Eason as my long term goal. My short term goal? To get back to being fit like I was at 19. I’m not looking to drop to 125 again but I would like to see some definition in my body again. So find a realistic picture to look forward to. Maybe it’s from you 2, 5, 10 years ago. Maybe it’s a celebrity. Whatever it is, make sure it’s a motivating and uplifting piece of inspiration. Not a depressing one. I KNOW I don’t have the genetics to have a “thigh gap” so I don’t find pictures full of young ripped girls with “thigh gaps”. I honestly don’t want one. (Use your imagination 😉 ) The point is to be healthy and love your body to the best of YOUR ability. No one else’s standards. 

 
And now I leave you with a little something. Here’s a few of Mike’s measurements. Get a tape measure out and think about it. Yeaaaaaaaaah he’s a big dude. ha. 
  • Arms: 
    • Not Flexed – 16.5 inches
    • Flexed       –  17.5 inches
  • Chest:    49 inches
  • Thighs:   28 inches
Leave a Reply

