Mah NEW CAR!!! 2011 Nissan Rogue

Pictured below is my very first car I bought all on my own in 2007. I picked it out, I test drove it, I financed it by myself. At the time I was separating from “Sparda” and wanted something fun that I could play in. I didn’t need four doors since it was “Me, Myself, & I” for the time being. I bought some off-roading tires since it was a 4×4 and I played. I had a lot of fun in that Explorer. UNTIL it started acting like a Ford. You know, “Found On Road Dead” or “Fix Or Repair Daily”. Yeah not thrilled with putting money into a car you are still making payments on. So Mike & I finally had enough.
*2003 Ford Explorer Sport 4×4*
We had been car shopping in theory for a year or two. Thinking ahead to when we have kids what would be safe and easy to get car seats in and out of yet gas efficient while I’m still in school. We really had our hearts set on a Volkswagen Jetta TDI. The Jetta is safe, the diesel gets AMAZING gas mileage, it has four doors, BUT was definitely out of our price range. Even the 2-3 year old models would put us over our budget. (Although knowing they hold their value so well was another great selling point.) We kept looking. 
We talked to my mother-in-law, since she knows EVERYBODY, and asked her for a trustworthy dealership. She recommended San Marcos Auto Outlet, apparently a few co-workers had some great experiences there so that’s where we headed. Took a gander at their used car inventory online and I really fell in love with the Nissan Rogue and Murano. Granted I’ve always thought they were pretty SUVs and Nissan has a more expensive appeal to it. Not quite Cadillac but not Pontiac, ya know? 

Now I’m not the person to put my pinky up when it comes to cars. I drove a 1997 Dodge Ram 1500 for pete’s sake before I bought my Explorer. LOVED that truck. 
I really like the shape of Nissan, wasn’t boxy, wasn’t too big or too small, wasn’t too high or low off the ground. (Geez it sounds like a 3 Little Bears story, right?) Now came the fun part. I started researching so I could back up my infatuation with the Nissan. The gas mileage was superb at 22/26 (later I was told by the sales lady that she had people say they got up to 22/28 on theirs). It was obviously four doors so that was a check on the list. 
Tinted windows? Check.
Power locks, windows, mirrors? Check.
Automatic? Check.
(All the mandatory essentials were taken care of.)
Would I have loved a sunroof? Absolutely! 
Would I have loved a 3rd row seat option? You bet! 
Did I REALLY REALLY REALLY want it in orange? OMG yes! 
Were any of those do or die? No. We narrowed it down to the red Rogue, a white Rogue, and a silver Dodge Journey. (The sales lady wanted us to at least look at the Journey just in case. I didn’t like the gas mileage at 17/22 so why would I even look at it?) Anywho, we started the process and made an appointment for 9am on a Saturday. By that time the white Rogue had been sold. Oh well. We filled out tons of paperwork, test drove it, and of course I fell in love. 
Mike just liked the fact that it was red. I’m assuming in hopes that I’ll not speed as much to avoid tickets. Pshhhhh yeah right! Also, I think so it’ll feel like he’s driving his engine all the time now. 😉 
After 5 hours at the dealership, and countless signatures later, we drove off the lot with my “new to me” Nissan Rogue!!! It’s so perty huh? I really do love this car. Now it’s being referred to as the “Mommy Mobile” even though I’m kidless for now. Weird. Whatever. Go ahead gawk at the pictures! I’m still in awe every time I get into it. 

*The trunk is much bigger than it looks*
This next set of pictures is from when I loaded the car up after shopping for my work’s Christmas party. This little suv holds a TON!

*View from the driver side back seat*

*View from the passenger side back seat*

*A LOT of beer* 
-24 pack of Bud light x 2
-12 pack Miller Light bottles
-12 pack Coors Light bottles
-12 pack Shiner Bock bottles
-6 pack of Stella Artois x 6
-6 pack of various wine bottles
-12 pack of soda x 4
3 thoughts on “Mah NEW CAR!!! 2011 Nissan Rogue

  1. 374's Wife

    Love your “new” car!!! I think a new one is on our horizon soon. Not really fond of that idea, as hubby's car is just about paid off, however my tall as a bean-pole kids (they get it honestly from their papa) will soon outgrow the back seat of my PT Cruiser.

    P.S. I took your rec and used Kristen for my blog layout. It's up and running now and I LOVE it! Thanks so much!!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Mike & Wren

    I feel you! Hubby's truck is paid off so we kept that. There was no way I'd be able to have toted around kiddos in my Explorer.

    Oh my gosh your blog does look awesome!! I'm so glad you love it & Kristen!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

